Editions in ENGLISH

                                                         SLOWLY BUT THOROUGHLY
                                                              a novel by B.D. Fischer

The relentless mania of the global information economy has crushed greater men than the CEO of DotCom.com but in the tradition of Huck Finn and Patrick Bateman he’s far from out of the contest.  At the crucial moment in the twin sagas of both his company and his families, oblivious to the canards of religion, capitalism, and democracy, he moves gamely forward.  As the secret past of his adopted hometown is revealed, he senses a post-millennial ecstasy of sex, hallucination, bureaucracy, and drugs, on the verge of fruition.  Yet his devotion to technologies he doesn’t understand, memories not his own, and relationships so brittle they crumble in his hands, may obscure the distinctions between history personal and political that have eluded him all his life.


Prose of shining chrome.
-Frank Moorhouse, author of Dark Palace and Grand Days

The indisputable strength of this novel is that "one voice" of the narrator, in its stunning amalgamation of lucidity and obsessiveness, blunt honesty and self-conscious performativity, sensitivity and cruelty, insight and blindness, wide-ranging curiosity and referentiality and self-absorption.
-Evan Carton, author of Patriotic Treason and Joan Negley Kelleher Centennial Professor in Rhetoric and Composition at the University of Texas at Austin


B.D. Fischer grew up in a small town that Money magazine called the best place to live in the entire U.S.A.  Naturally, he dropped out of high school and moved as soon as he could to upstate New York where he poured beer, repossessed cars, and published his first story.  He spent the first decade of the new century across the American South, mostly in Austin, Texas, where he graded standardized tests, taught interior design, and ran an elevator in an ADA-compliant museum.  He moved to Wuhu, Anhui, China, in 2011, where he met his future wife, before settling in Chicago.  You can reach him at ThreeStrangeThings.com

 COVER by Katerina Dramitinou
e-book format available through www.smashwords.com


                                                      By Gregory Papadoyiannis

This is a “sentimental” guide for travellers, through 52 of the Greek islands.
The term "sentimental guide" implies something more than a commonplace guide and I assure you that my book is not written in the style of a classic guidebook. There is already a plethora of classic guidebooks; the internet is rife with a lot of useful – yet even more useless – information. This book has simply been written out of an outrageous love for the islands, to describe of what it feels like to actually “live the island” – even for a week – and to find out what it’s like, from how it looks to how it can be characterized in terms of its deeper essence. I liken this process to getting to know a friend, or perhaps even falling in love.

What you will find here
For every island, you will find information about its history and its connection with the other islands which belong to the same group.
You will also find basic information about
how to get around and spots that I think you should not miss, in order to get a complete picture and enjoy your stay on the island. Keep in mind that this is a guide for travellers and not for ordinary tourists. As such, what I believe is most significant is to give you information based on my own experience, about the style, character, profile and personality of each island.
Along with
the commentary on the islands, this book contains some basic yet essential tips for travellers to Greeceand particularly for those travelling to   the islands.
Moreover, there is a small section with some tips –
one might say an emotional survival guidefor all those who need to know what to do during their first day on an island.

What you will not find
You won’t find recommendations about the best restaurant, the best night club or the best hotel on each island. This information can be accessed using many other resources. This is not a book containing typical advice for tourists and not just another classic travel guide for the Greek islands; there are already plenty of excellent ones to choose from. This is something unique that cannot be found anywhere else; it is a sentimental journey through the Greek islands and I want to share it with you.

BOOK REVIEW, by Lane Ashfeldt

Coasting along in the Greek islands


 I never take a guidebook on my travels: long lists of things to ‘cover’ or ‘do’ would only be a source of stress. But if I ever revisit the Greek Islands, I may well pack a copy of Gregory Papadoyiannis’s genre-busting ‘52 eyelands’. Far from stressing you out with detailed lists, Papadoyiannis offers only the lightest touch of “must sees”. In fact, among the book’s top tips for travel is the refreshing advice to set aside all guidebooks or maps as soon as you can, and trust your instincts instead.

The tone of the book is relaxed and accepting of the traveller’s lot: things might go awry from time to time, but that is to be expected. Sometimes the ferry is late and the bus driver who is paid to meet it gives up waiting and goes home to bed, and so the disembarking passengers must reach their destinations on foot. But Papadoyiannis makes light of such challenges. However bad the situation, he remains an optimist. What you must do, he seems to be saying, is keep going, and the next day you will find the good stuff.Sustained throughout is the voice of a travelling companion who is always careful not to tell you too much, always conscious that travel is about making choices, and that since each traveller is different they will each have discoveries of their own to make about the islands that he knows and loves so well.

At last: a no-spoilers guidebook. This could be a thing.

was born in Crete in 1961. He has a university degree in law and journalism, and also studied film directing. He is the person in charge and also writes about book & cinema on the website www.eyelands.gr
His career history includes work with newspapers, magazines, radio and television for well-known broadcasting organisations and television stations, initially as a sports correspondent and later as a columnist and editor and has collaborated in redacting various travel guides.
 At the same time he was worked as a translator, working in collaboration with prominent publishing houses. He was also active within the realm of theatre. In 1991 he received the top national award for new playwriters. In the following years he received two times the 2nd prize in the national contest for playwriters. He also wrote a novel, a short stories collection and a comic album.

See more about the book:

           available through www.paraxenesmeres.gr  / strangedaysbooks.gr
                                      & www.amazon.com - kindle edition

No comments:

Post a Comment